Characterized

by

his eyes

and the way

he

never gets

what

he

wants.

He

represents the way

I feel.

I feel

I am to blame.

And that hat,

that hat

displays how

I feel ashamed.

Unable to show my true face

to the light of day.

The cane

portrays how

I feel weak.

How I  

can’t stand

on my own two feet.

His signature waddle

highlights my own uncertainty.

How I fear

moving from point A

to point B.

But today,

his character represents

us.

Not the world.

Not America.

Us.

There is no more beautiful thing

than to realize it’s

us.

Not my friends

nor yours.

Not my family

or yours.

It’s about

all of us

and our collective fears.

Its about

our shared weakness,

our common uncertainty,

our bipedal standing.

So please do realize

through fire and famine,

and those tears in

your eyes,

I will

never compromise

 and I will

remain standing as

the tramp

by your side.

